Upcoming SAARMSTE Conference hosted by Tshwane University of Technology, Arts Campus, Pretoria, South Africa

Tuesday 12 January - Friday 15 January 2016

(Followed by Post Conference Writing Clinic: Friday 15 - Saturday 16 January 2016.  See footnote for further information)


Conference Theme: Researching a sustainable environment and sustaining research in Mathematics, Science and Technology Education

The SAARMSTE annual conferences are open to anyone involved and interested in research in science, mathematics, engineering or technology education.  New researchers are particularly welcome

REGISTRATION IS NOW OPEN - please click here to register on-line. 

( For those who wish to download a registration form to complete and send as an attachment to an e-mail, click here and send to:  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. )


1st Announcement may be downloaded here

2nd Announcement may be downloadedhere


For anyone interested in attending the Conference, papers presented will address the following strands:

  • Curriculum and assessment reform and evaluation in MSTE
  • Promising practices in teaching and learning MSTE
  • Equity, access and quality in MSTE
  • Teacher education and continuous professional development in MSTE
  • Language and MSTE
  • Research policy and practice in MSTE


Information found in the 2nd Announcement includes:

  • Plenary Speakers
  • Objectives of the SAARMSTE annual meeting
  • Presentation categories
  • Definition of 'Research'
  • Reviewing procedure
  • Conference Accommodation - notice Hotel224 offers conference rates @ R550 single; R715 sharing.  Must quote SAARMSTE for these rates
  • Registration 
  • Post-Conference Writing Clinic
  • Important dates
  • SAARMSTE 2016 correspondence details & conference organising committee
  • Conference bursaries
  • Application for financial support


Post Conference Writing Clinic

If you wish to develop your short paper for the SAARMSTE Conference to a submission for an academic journal, you may well take advantage of a post conference writing clinic, facilitated by Prof Fred Lubben, the Chief-Editor of the African Journal of Research in Mathematics, Science and Technology Education (AJRMSTE). During the Writing Clinic Fred will be supported by other leading MST Education authors such as members of the Editorial Boards of AJRMSTE and Pythagoras.   The Writing Clinic is scheduled to take place as the conference ends i.e. Friday 15 January (14:00) through to Saturday 16 January 2016, ending at approximately 15:00. The purpose of the Writing Clinic is to develop your own personal paper, not to collect tips for authors.

If you are interested, please apply for a place at the Writing Clinic by contacting Fred Lubben as soon as possible on This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. You will need to send a draft of the paper you want to work on together with your application.  There are no costs for participating in the Clinic. The Venue will be announced later.

N.B. Those who are accepted to take part in the writing clinic should make their own accommodation arrangements for the additional night(s) and pay for their own meals.


Notice: SARMSTE Colloquium - 12 September 2015 University of Fort Hare, East London

A highly successful SAARMSTE Colloquium, hosted by the East Cape Chapter, took place at University of Fort Hare, East London on Saturday 12 September 2015.  Further information and feed-back will be posted shortly.  Watch this space





Electronic copies of the 2015 Conference Final Proceedings; Short Papers and Abstracts, (including Plenary Speakers)  can be downloaded here

Click here for details of Conference 2015 including delegate attendance.


SAARMSTE2014 Delegates in venue

 SAARMSTE2014 delegates at the conference in Port Elizabeth, South Africa.


Past Conference Proceedings

1997 - 2007 Conference Proceedings - DVDs available at R60 each. Please email the Secretariat to order: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Past Conference Hosts and Presidents

1993: Rhodes University, Grahamstown, South Africa - John Volmink (RSA)
1994: University of Durban-Westville, Durban, South Africa - Viljay Reddy (RSA)
1995: University of Cape Town, Cape Town, South Africa - Diane Grayson (RSA)
1996: University of the North, Turfloop, South Africa - Marissa Rollnick (RSA)
1997: University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg, South Africa - Ntabiseng Ogude (RSA)
1998: University of South Africa, Pretoria, South Africa - Botlale Tema (RSA)
1999: University of Zimbabwe, Harare, Zimbabwe - Jaap Kuiper (RSA)
2000: University of Port Elizabeth, Port Elizabeth, South Africa - Mogege Mosimege (RSA)
2001: Eduardo Mondlane University, Maputo, Mozambique - Renuka Vithal (RSA)
2002: University of Natal, Durban, South Africa - Bongi Putsoa (Swaziland)
2003: University of Swaziland, Waterford Kamhlaba, Swaziland - Paula Ensor (RSA)
2004: University of Cape Town, Cape Town, South Africa - Inocente Mutimucuio (MZ)
2005: University of Namibia, Windhoek, Namibia - Inocente Mutimucuio (MZ)
2006: University of Pretoria, Pretoria, South Africa - Karin Brodie (RSA)
2007: Eduardo Mondlane University, Maputo, Mozambique - Karin Brodie (RSA)
2008: University of Lesotho, Maseru, Lesotho - Chipo Fumhanda (Zimbabwe)
2009: Rhodes University, Grahamstown, South Africa - Chipo Fumhanda (Zimbabwe)
2010: University of KwaZulu Natal, Pinetown, South Africa - Marc Schafer (RSA)
2011: North West University, Mafikeng, South Africa - Marc Schafer (RSA)
2012: University of Malawi, Lilongwe, Malawi - Mellony Graven (RSA)
2013: University of the Western Cape, Cape Town, South Africa - Mellony Graven (RSA)

2014: Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University, Port Elizabeth, South Africa - Mercy Kazima (Malawi)

2015: Pedagogical University and Eduardo University, Maputo, Mozambique - Mercy Kazima (Malawi)

Future Conference Hosts

2016:  Mathematics, Science & Technology Education (MSTE) Department, Faculty of Humanities, Tshwane Univeristy of Technology, Pretoria


SAARMSTE15 Conference Banner



A downloadable list of delegates who attended the 2015 Conference in Maputo can be found on the SAARMSTE Conference 2015 page