SAARMSTE publishes an accredited academic journal, the African Journal of Research in Mathematics, Science and Technology Education (AJRMSTE)

Members-Only Resources

Please log in to view the following:

Link to the AJRMSTE Journal
Editorial Policy
AJRMSTE Journal Contribution - Information and Guidelines
2019 7th edition APA-7
Author’s Guide to EM

Special Issues

"Computational Thinking in Africa"

October 2023


Chief Editor

Prof Sarah Bansilal

2022 – 2023

Past Editor

Prof Busisiwe Alant

2019 – 2021

Associate Editors

Fred Lubben – University of York, UK

Michael Askew – University of the Witwatersrand, SA

Lawan Abdulhamid – University of the Witwatersrand, SA

Nicolaas Blom – University of Limerick, Ireland

Dillip K Das – University of KwaZulu Natal, SA

Tony Essien – University of the Witwatersrand, SA

Mellony Graven – Rhodes University, SA

Monde Kazeni – University of the Witwatersrand, SA

Petrus J Kok – University of Zululand, SA

Umesh Ramnarian – University of Johannesburg, SA

Angela Stott – University of the Free State, SA

Pamela Vale – Rhodes University, SA

The first issue was produced in 1997, with Professor Meshach Ogunniyi from the University of the Western Cape as the founding editor. It was then called the SAARMSTE Journal. Professor John Rogan, from the University of Pretoria, took over as editor in 2001, Professor Cliff Malcolm, from the University of KwaZulu-Natal, in 2004 and Professor Iben Christiansen from the University of KwaZulu-Natal in 2006.

In 2003, the name of the journal was changed to the African Journal of Research in Mathematics, Science and Technology Education (AJRMSTE). This change reflected a shift in purpose, as the journal opened itself increasingly to articles and concerns from across Africa.

The primary target audiences include scholars (researchers, teacher educators, curriculum developers, education policy makers) within Southern Africa and elsewhere in the continent and the world.

AJRMSTE is an International Journal published by Taylor and Francis (Routledge). Taylor & Francis (Routledge) is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE). All of the Taylor & Francis (Routledge) journals, including AJRMSTE abide by the COPE guidelines on publication ethics. The guidelines are aligned with the Academy of Science South Africa’s (ASSAf) Code of Best Practice in Scholarly Journal Publishing, Editing and Peer Review.

In addition, AJRMSTE:

  • Is DHET accredited, with Scopus CiteScore (2018) of 0.55; Scopus Cite (2020) of 1,2
  • Is DHET compliant i.t.o. 75% rule:
    • Not more than 25% of articles for a particular issue are from the same institution. If more aticles from the same institution are accepted, certain articles will be retained for publication in the subsequent issue.
  • Accepts only original articles;
  • Undergoes a double-blind peer review process:
    • On average about 40% of articles annually are rejected before the peer review stage is reached and 40% are rejected after review.
  • Publishes 36 articles in 3 issues per year. Since 2012, the journal produces three issues per year – one each in April, August and November;
  • Is accessible to readers via direct subscriptions and through Sabinet Online, there is a charge, or through the Taylor and Francis website which is free to SAARMSTE members.

Editorial Guidelines

The editorial guidelines of the journal are available online:  

The journal has an international editorial board, with members from African countries, North America, Australia, and Europe and involves many reviewers from Southern Africa and beyond.

Editorial Board

Richard Barwell, University of Ottawa, Canada

Karin Brodie, University of the Witwatersrand, SA 

Jenni Case, Virginia Tech, USA 

Justin Dillon, University of Exeter, UK 

Anthony Koosimile, University of Botswana, Botswana 

Cedric Linder, Uppsala University, Sweden 

Xin Ma, University of Kentucky, USA

Elsa Mentz, North West University, SA 

Inocente Mutimucuio, Eduardo Mondlane, Mozambique

Meshach Ogunniyi, University of the Western Cape, SA 

Charles Opolot-Okurut, Makerere University, Uganda

Marietjie Potgieter, University of Pretoria, SA 

Hikma Smida, Université de Carthage,Tunis, Tunisia 

Renuka Vithal, University of KwaZulu Natal, SA

Marc de Vries, Delft University of Technology, Netherlands

John Williams, Curtin University, Australia

The journal is accredited by the Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET) in South Africa, as a peer-reviewed journal of high quality

How do I Access the Journal?


Free access to the journal for SAARMSTE members is provided through the Taylor and Francis. Find the link to the journal in the ‘Members Only’ resources at the top of this page or by clicking the button below.

As a reminder, the benefits to applying for membership to SAARMSTE are:

Free access to back-dated and up-to-the moment, (hot off the press), AJRMSTE publications.

Free access to information with guidelines on what is required before submitting an article.

Free access to register and submit article(s) for review

Access to the process, once an article(s) has been submitted, i.e. track the progress.


The journal is available electronically, through Sabinet Online, where there is a charge.